Queen's Cup 2018
Queen's Cup 2018Queen's Cup 2018

Queen's Cup 2018

Debut win for La Bamba de Areco

May 25, 2018
May 25, 2018
The Queen’s Cup, one of the most prestigious polo tournaments in the world, resumed on Thursday. Eleven 22 goal teams are in competition. The third day saw Trippetts Challenge winner La Bamba de Areco beat Clinova. The final of the Queen’s Cup is scheduled for Sunday, June 17th.


Jean Francois Decaux’s La Bamba de Areco started their 2018 UK high-goal campaign on a positive note today, comfortably beating Clinova 9-4 in a match played at the private Zacara ground. Both teams started off slowly, with the scores registering 3-2 to La Bamba after the first two chukkas. Things did not improve in the next two periods of play as Clinova, the new name for the team of regular high-goal patron Adrian Kirby, failed to score at all. Luckily for them, La Bamba was not able to capitalise on this situation, only firing through two goals, off the sticks of Pelon Stirling and Juan Martin Nero, at this point in the game. This meant there was very much still all to play for at the start of the fifth, as the score was only reading 5-2. 

In 22-goal polo fortunes can change in an instant, but goals from Nero and Malcolm Borwick in the fifth retained the status quo. Borwick closed the gap at the start of the sixth and final chukka only for Byron Watson, Stirling and Nero to fire through three consecutive goals to confirm La Bamba de Areco’s dominance of this match.

La Bamba de Areco: Jean Francois Decaux 0, Byron Watson 3 (1 goal), Pelon Stirling 9 (4), Juan Martín Nero 10 (4). Total: 22.
Clinova: Juan Gris Zavaleta 7 (1 goal), Nico Pieres 9, Malcolm Borwick 6 (2), Adrian Kirby 0 (1). Total: 22.
Score La Bamba de Areco: 1-1, 3-2, 4-2, 5-2, 6-3, 9-4.
Umpires: Tim Bown and Julian Appleby.   
Third man: Jason Dixon.

The Queen’s Cup continues on Saturday :
12pm: Emlor vs Valiente
3pm, The Royal Windsor Horse Show Cup: La Indiana vs Park Place

Picture Galleries:
QUEEN’S CUP: La Bamba de Areco vs Clinova

QUEEN’S CUP: Fixture & Teams