Queen's Cup 2018
Queen's Cup 2018Queen's Cup 2018

Queen's Cup 2018

Wins for defending champions RH & Emlor

May 24, 2018
May 24, 2018
The Queen’s Cup, one of the most prestigious polo tournaments around the world, continued on Wednesday with two matches. Eleven 22 goal teams are in competition. Day two saw defending champions RH Polo and Emlor claim wins. The final of the Queen’s Cup is scheduled for Sunday, June 17.

RH POLO 11-6 LES LIONS (at Les Lions)

Last year’s Queen’s Cup winners RH Polo started their 2018 campaign with a win, beating returning high-goal team, Les Lions 11-6 on the Lions’ home turf. Sapo Caset, playing off 9 goals in the UK, but already 10 in Argentina and the USA, was the biggest goal scorer for RH, firing through five goals, while Joaquin Pittaluga fired through the same amount for Les Lions. The difference was that Rodrigo de Andrade, Mín Podesta and their patron all found the flags for RH.

RH Polo: Ben Soleimani 0 (2 goals), Mín Podestá 5 (2), Sapo Caset 9 (5), Rodrigo Andrade 8 (2). Total: 22.
Les Lions: Max Gottschalk 0, Guillermo Terrera 8 (1 goal), Joaquín Pittaluga 7 (5), Jaime García Huidobro 7. Total: 22.
Score RH Polo: 2-0, 4-1, 6-3, 8-3, 10-4, 11-6.
Umpires: Peter Wright and Julian Appleby.    Third man: Tim Bown.

EMLOR 12-10 MONTEROSSO (at Flemish Farm)

Spencer McCarthy led his Emlor Polo Team to victory on the Castle Ground at Flemish Farm this afternoon. The exciting combination of Tincho Merlos, Diego Cavanagh and Nacho Gonzalez proved effective today and the addition of a competitive patron ensures that Emlor will be a team to keep an eye on this year. They defeated Alessandro Bazzoni’s Monterosso Polo Team in a fast paced match. There was little to choose between these two teams for the first two chukkas, but Emlor pulled away convincingly in the third after Monterosso failed to score. Bazzoni and his team, featuring the Toccalino boys, brought themselves back into the game in the second half, but were unable to overtake their opponents.

Emlor: Spencer McCarthy 0 (1 goal), Tincho Merlos 9 (8), Diego Cavanagh 8 (2), Nacho González 5 (1). Total: 22.
Monterosso: Alessandro Bazzoni 0, Juan Martín Zubía 6 (2 goals), Cubi Toccalino 8 (3), Santiago Toccalino 8 (5). Total: 22.
Score Emlor: 2-2, 4-3, 6-3, 8-5, 10-7, 12-10.
Umpires: Jason Dixon and Tim Bown.    Third man: Peter Wright.

The Queen’s Cup continues on Thursday:
12pm: La Bamba De Areco vs Clinova, at Zacara.

Picture Galleries:
QUEEN’S CUP: RH Polo vs Les Lions
QUEEN’S CUP: Emlor vs Monterosso

QUEEN’S CUP: Fixture & Teams